How I will make 2013 exciting: Learn Arnis

New year

As a new year begins, I am going to start Arnis training.  I am fascinated by its use of weapons as well as its fast, potentially-lethal, but graceful movements.

A few friends ask if I have hidden violent tendencies. I don’t know. Maybe.🙂

What I know for sure is, if I will be diligent about it,  I will gain a lot:

  • I will be stronger and fitter
  • I will be mentally tougher
  • I will have a deeper appreciation of my country’s history and culture
  • I will be exposed to the thrilling world of martial arts

I’m sure that I will experience many more exciting benefits as I go along.

What a year it’s going to be!

10 thoughts on “How I will make 2013 exciting: Learn Arnis

  1. stlcounterpoint January 3, 2013 / 11:32 PM

    Good luck in your training. Keep at it. There is so much to learn and experience in Filipino martial arts. I’ve found them very rewarding. All the best from Saint Louis, Missouri.

  2. http://germandogs.ru/user/porovehekxs/ January 5, 2013 / 3:23 PM

    Everything published made a bunch of sense. However, what about this?
    what if you typed a catchier post title? I ain’t suggesting your content is not solid, however what if you added a headline that grabbed people’s attention?
    I mean Beginning, again. | The Deadly Dance is a little vanilla.
    You could look at Yahoo’s home page and watch how they create article titles to get people to open the links. You might try adding a video or a picture or two to grab people excited about everything’ve got to say.
    In my opinion, it might bring your posts a little livelier.

    • thedeadlydance January 5, 2013 / 8:01 PM

      Thank you very much for this valuable comment! You are definitely correct and I appreciate that you took time to give me feedback and tips. I will sincerely try to improve. More power to you!

  3. Gail January 5, 2013 / 11:43 PM

    Hi Joy,
    I look forward to watching your journey. I am also in martial arts and love it. Tang Soo Do is a Korean discipline and I love the confidence I get through my training. Cheers, Gail

    • thedeadlydance January 6, 2013 / 9:28 PM

      Thank you Gail!
      To be honest, I was a little anxious about blogging my first steps in martial arts but so far, people like you have been encouraging, kind, and helpful. How nice it is to have this community🙂
      I didn’t know anything about Tang Soo Do so I watched some demos on youtube. Awesome! The moves can really hurt! Very impressive, esp. when women do it.

  4. tacticaltaekwondo January 14, 2013 / 5:30 PM

    go for it, i have been studying Arnis for a while now and it blows my mind

    • thedeadlydance January 14, 2013 / 9:29 PM

      You’re into Arnis too? Wow! I’m just a beginner and so far, I’m impressed by the fluidity and practicality of its technique. Maybe you can write a post about it soon.
      I like your blog. So sound and intelligent.
      Thank you.
      All the best!

      • tacticaltaekwondo January 15, 2013 / 10:53 AM

        thank you very much

        I was lucky enough to find a balintawak teacher in my neighbour hood last autum, train with him as much as i can

  5. Yogi kulog Diaz January 30, 2013 / 1:33 PM

    hello joy I wish u the best in learning Arnis De Mano! I was lucky to meet Gat Puno Abon, and learn his family art Garimot ARNIS! . Since I started with him. I was like wow. I’ve been now in the martial arts for 30. Anyways the best to you! From the Garimot Arnis Training family of central florida

Please leave a comment

