What I got from my first Arnis class

Since Arnis Master Crisanto Pasindo holds his training sessions in a park, I was relieved when the rains stopped about an hour before my 7 AM schedule.

I  was excited because it was my first session after more than a year of hiatus. I had some beginner’s classes late in 2011 but had to stop because I wanted to focus on my first marathon training.

This year, I am determined to really learn Arnis. Never mind if a few of my friends seriously doubt it. :) I believe Martial Arts has a lot of benefits both to the body and mind and I want to    experience them myself.  I chose Arnis because it is Filipino and I’m Filipino.🙂

What Master Cris had me do first was to review the stances and basic strikes. We didn’t do footwork yet. Thanks to muscle memory, I didn’t have to start from zero. Somehow, my arms knew where to go.

But my oh my, they were so WEAK! They got tired easily and my hits had no strength at all. Right arm weak, left arm weaker. Master Cris made me do more reps on the left to develop ambidextrosity.

So what did I get after almost two hours of drills? Muscle soreness, that’s what!

Almost everything is sore, but special mention are my pectorals, trapezius, deltoids and triceps. Photo credit: humanbodyfacts.com

Yes, I am sore but that is just a statement of fact and not a complaint.

In fact, I’m pretty satisfied with this feeling. Thank you, Arnis.

It's worth it. Photo credit: rededdiefitness

5 thoughts on “What I got from my first Arnis class

  1. hubertbieluczyk January 6, 2013 / 9:00 AM

    I am interested to see how your journey with Arnis goes, Keep us updated!🙂

  2. thedeadlydance January 6, 2013 / 9:37 PM

    Thank you very much!!!! More power to you and your team.🙂

    • Mio May 13, 2014 / 9:09 PM

      Many people don’t realize that an escrimador who displays that much force in hitting and breaking a rattan is also capable of knocking out an opponent with his or her fists in boxing. I remember a student back in high school who engaged in a fist fight with the upperclassmen. The guys who received his punches had their knees jerking because of the impact. I later found out that the person was a tennis player, aside from taking boxing lessons but with much less frequency. Nobody, however, had been knocked out in that fight. What would happen, then, if an escrimador who practices his or her art for an average of two hours a day, with AND without the stick (panuntukan), engages in a fist fight? Imagine the effects of months of repetitive training in buhat-araw, pabilog, saboy, punyo, abanico, and pitik on one’s bottom fist, uppercut, hook, straight, jab, and back fist strikes? Should we then integrate escrima in MMA training? Would this be better than just using a pair of light dumb bells in shadow boxing?

  3. Lester Usapdin August 15, 2014 / 3:29 PM

    I use elbow support on my arms to protect it from “tennis elbow” pain. I also put grip rubber bands (usually for baseball bat; can be bought in Toby’s Sports store in SM malls) so that my rattan and bahi sticks wouldn’t be slippery during practice. I also use motorcycle gloves and my teacher told me to buy sunglasses because a stick strike to your eye could make it blind. I also have thumb and wrist supports for carrying blunt machete during practice. I’m still thinking if I’m gonna buy shoulder supports from Toby’s coz they are more expensive.

Please leave a comment

