Arnis is on Philippine TV these days!

There’s a handsome young man doing Arnis on a TV series these days.

He’s Coco Martin, playing the lead role in the primetime soap opera Juan dela Cruz.

Following the Twilight genre, his character fights against evil with a cross which turns into a whip, an arrow, a spear, or a sword as needed.

Most of the spear and sword scenes are… (drumroll please)… ARNIS!

I don’t watch TV and this horror-fantasy-drama genre doesn’t interest me at all.   So I can’t say that I’m endorsing the show.

But this, I sincerely say: Coco Martin, congratulations on the success of your show. I read in one article that you’re putting a lot of time and energy learning your fight scenes. Thank you for that. Arnis is awesome, right? I hope that you’ll  continue to train in it if or when Juan dela Cruz concludes.

And for the millions who watch this show, I say: when there are sword or spear scenes, look closely. It’s Arnis. The terrific moves are our own. They’re pinoy. Proudly pinoy.

Pugay!

*****************

Related posts:

A few years ago, Arnis was on TV also. See what happened here.

Watch the different moves in a fantastic Arnis demo here.

7 thoughts on “Arnis is on Philippine TV these days!

  1. cheesechompkarate June 9, 2013 / 2:30 PM

    Hello. I’m from a community of martial arts loving people in Manila. DO you have a facebook page I can follow?

    • thedeadlydance June 10, 2013 / 9:18 PM

      Hi. Thanks for asking but no, I don’t have an FB page yet. I’m still trying to master wordpress, esp now that I joined a blogathon (post daily for the whole month of June!). Btw, it’s nice that you have a community. Where are you based?
      –Joy–

  2. Punong Lakan July 9, 2013 / 11:29 AM

    Thanks and Pugay!!!!

  3. mattkevin July 9, 2013 / 1:26 PM

    Honored to meet you😀
    I’m also a student and practitioner of Arnis. Filipino Martial Arts is my passion.
    For me, this is a way of immersing myself to our culture and history. Pugay!

    • thedeadlydance July 9, 2013 / 11:00 PM

      Likewise. Thank you for visiting and commenting.
      FMA is my passion too! Have you been in it a long time? I just started in Jan 2013.

      –Joy–

Please leave a comment

