Filipino Martial Arts in the marines

Since about a month ago, Master Cris has been regularly incorporating knife fighting in my practice sessions. Usually we practice first with sticks then itak then knife then empty hands. I’m still slow and often forget the moves but I’m loving it.

I recently found a youtube video showing our own Philippine Marines being trained on this also. 

Their training is called Pekiti -Tirsia Kali (PTK), a Filipino Martial Art Close Quarter fighting system that focuses on edged weapons. They train with sticks, long blades, spears, knives, and empty hands.

If you have trouble viewing the video, click here.

Some tips from the video:

  • Hit the weapon and the body.
  • Move to the left or right fast. Get out of the way. Protect yourself.
  • A bolo can be effective against multiple rifles.
  • You can transfer your armed moves to unarmed. They are basically the same.
  • Learn the triangle footwork.
  • You have to understand strategy and attack.

When I look at PTK videos, I cannot really tell if it’s different from what I’m learning now (Modern Arnis). I’m also learning and using the same weapons. The moves are similar. 

I’m sure I’ll find differences but I’m satisfied now, just knowing that Filipino Martial Arts is practical, realistic, and effective.

My Filipino heart delights in this.🙂

Pugay!    

************************

Pekiti-Tersia Kali Manila official website

For a list of  Pekiti Tirsia Kali schools and organizations around the world, click here.

5 thoughts on “Filipino Martial Arts in the marines

  1. stlcounterpoint June 20, 2013 / 11:18 AM

    Pekiti tirsia is one of the arts that fathered Counterpoint Tactical Systems. We pull a lot from that art, and I love it.

    It’s good to hear that you’re starting knife training. The knife is where the FMAs really came alive for me. Have fun!

    • thedeadlydance June 21, 2013 / 10:54 PM

      Thank you. Knife training is difficult but it rocks! And hubby now says that he has no choice but to be always nice to me! Yay!😀

  2. Robert July 2, 2013 / 2:40 PM

    Glad that you are promoting my people’s art. I was taught by my grandfather on eskrima while my dad taught me Yaw Yan. Pugay!

  3. Robert July 2, 2013 / 2:42 PM

    Hope that you will also post stories about Yaw Yan (Sayaw ng Kamatayan) too.

    • thedeadlydance July 10, 2013 / 1:18 AM

      I never knew about Yaw Yan but now, I’m interested especially because it’s similar to this blog’s name. Thanks for visiting and commenting!

Please leave a comment

