Is there a Sikaran class nearby?

Photo credit: www.rizalprovince.gov.ph
Photo credit: http://www.rizalprovince.gov.ph

Sikaran just fascinates me a lot. See my first post about it here.

  • First, it’s a Filipino Martial Art, so it’s a given that I like it.
  • Second, its jumping, spinning, and flying kicks are entertaining, dare I say, mesmerizing to watch.
  • Third, I  KNOW how physically demanding those kicks are!

You see, a few months ago, I joined a strength training boot camp.  We met thrice a week and we always had intense, heart-pumping-to-the-max activities.

Once (it wasn’t repeated anymore), they asked us to do some kicking exercises.

Something like this….

Photo credit: www.tannymartialarts.com
Photo credit: http://www.tannymartialarts.com

…but…NOT. Really.

My highest kick did not even reach above-waist level!

First, I had to do five kicks each leg. Rest one minute. Then ten kicks each leg. Rest. And so on. ..until we reached 30 each leg.

After that last round, the world suddenly became a like a rollercoaster and my heart felt like it wanted to jump off my chest!

You know, I have already finished a marathon and many other shorter races and I’ve been in Arnis for several months but that kicking session was the only one which gave me that overwhelming sensation of …D-Y-I-N-G.

I’m exaggerating, of course.

But not too much.

Kicking hard is… well, HARD.

It’s not easy. It’s not a joke.

That’s why I bow to the Sikaranistas.

Their strength, stamina, and power are superb.

Something I aspire for.

Now, I’m still definitely staying with Arnis but I wonder if there’s a Sikaran class near here? One that accepts stiff adults whose best effort bend reaches only to the shins…  🙂

Pugay!

******************

From Youtube:

Old but very valuable videos featuring Sikaran Supreme Master Meliton Geronimo himself. He speaks Tagalog but I don’t think that will be a problem for those who don’t understand it. The videos are pretty straightforward. Click here and here.

8 thoughts on “Is there a Sikaran class nearby?

  1. O July 6, 2013 / 7:44 PM

    Yaw Yan art is Filipino as well.

    • thedeadlydance July 10, 2013 / 2:12 AM

      Yes. I saw some videos on youtube. It’s really a dance of death! So intense! I never heard of it until you and a few other readers commented about it. Is it like Muay Thai? (See how a foreign Martial art is more familiar to me, a Filipino? This should change.)

  2. Mio December 16, 2013 / 3:00 PM

    Just an advice. Do not worry if you cannot kick above the waistline. The simple low kicks, although devoid of the stuff that Hollywood action films are made of, may one day save your life.

    The MMA techniques of shoot wrestling, ground and pound, and sprawl and brawl has made the execution of those spinning back kicks, spinning rotary kicky, or flying spinning whatever kicks RISKIER than ever. (“We are not birds, so let us not try flying like one,” said a karate instructor.)

    The keys to win a street fight are summed up by Bruce Lee in two wing chun phrases: “economy of motion” and “simplicity of movements”.

    • thedeadlydance December 20, 2013 / 1:20 AM

      For self defense, yes, you’re right. I can stick with the simpler movements. But sikaran is mainly for sports and fitness. Imagine the strength and flexibility I’ll have if ever I learn those sikaran movements. I think they’re awesome for overall health.

  3. Lester Usapdin August 15, 2014 / 6:10 PM

    I think Sikaran is in Antipolo, Rizal.

    Grandmaster Meliton Geronimo
    World Sikaran Brotherhood
    No. 39 Second St
    Cavalier Village, Antipolo City
    Sumolong Highway
    Philippines

    Master Jaime Geronimo
    Chief Instructor
    Sikaran Brotherhood of the Philippines
    138 Constantino St.
    Barangay Santiago
    Baras, Rizal
    Philippines

    • Lester Usapdin August 15, 2014 / 6:16 PM

      For the ones near you, try these:

      KAPATIRAN SIKARAN NG ARANITO
      SILVESTRE M. MONFORTE, 7TH DBB (#920)
      625 Araneta Ave, Barangay, Tatalon, Quezon City

      2. SPI SIKARAN CLUB
      SOFRONIO P. IQUIN, 1ST DBB (#3826)
      6227-A Saint Paul St, Payatas, Quezon City

      3. JAGUAR SIKARAN MARTIAL ARTS
      JEFFREY G. DE LEON
      6652 Tramo St., San Dionisio, Paranaque City

      4. FIGHTING EAGLE STRIKE SIKARAN ARNIS MARTIAL ARTS
      FRANK E. SOBRINO
      # 09 Area 1-B, Luzon Ave, Old Balara, Quezon City
      Tel. No. 288-9428

      5. BLACK PHOENIX SIKARAN MARTIAL ARTS CLUB
      JUN S. AZNAR , 4th DBB (#3287)
      26 Valencia St, SFDM, Quezon City
      Tel. No. 99-99-40

      6. SOLID FIRST SIKARAN SCHOOL
      RICARDO C. FORNILLOS
      24 B, Lourdes St., Barrio San Vicente, Diliman, Quezon City

      7. ED DRAGON SIKARAN ARNIS MARTIAL ARTS CLUB
      DANILO P. HALIBAS, 2nd DBB (#4049)
      # 37 Luzon Ave, Purok No. 2
      Barangay Culiat, Mabasa Compound, Old Balara, Quezon City

    • thedeadlydance August 19, 2014 / 8:02 PM

      Oh wow, thank you very much Lester. How do you know these? Are you in Sikaran also?

Please leave a comment

