Where, oh where, are the Arnis books?

Look at this masterpiece that greets you at Fully Booked in Bonifacio Global City.

Fully Booked Display
A floor to ceiling book art
Beautiful
Did you notice? They’re books. So beautiful

Like a child in a candy store, all my senses perk up when I’m in a bookstore. I just love being in the company of pages and pages of wisdom, knowledge, adventure, drama, etc, etc.

A few weeks ago, hubby and I went and he gave me the whole afternoon to scour the goods.

I went straight to the martial arts section.

Two big shelves of martial arts books! Yay!
Two big shelves of martial arts books! Yay!

Now, look for Arnis books.

No Arnis book here
No Arnis book here
None here either
None here either
Not even one here
Not even one here

IN THIS HUGE BOOKSTORE, THERE’S NOT EVEN ONE ARNIS BOOK???

Previously, I also checked several branches of National Bookstore and Powerbooks and they carried only three– GM Presas’s Modern Arnis and Practical Eskrima; and Emmanuel Querubin’s Sikaran!

Krav Maga, Aikido, and Karate books overflow in shelves but where are the ones about my beloved Arnis? In amazon.com?? But I want them in bookstores! I want them to be as accessible as the other books!!!

WHERE ARE THEY??

I’m ready to have a tantrum!!!

Excuse me.

10 thoughts on “Where, oh where, are the Arnis books?

  1. Karthik S Vailaya September 25, 2013 / 5:03 PM

    It is sad to see that there are so many good martial arts, but importance is given only to some arts which have gained popularity and not for their essence.

    • thedeadlydance September 26, 2013 / 8:30 PM

      When I think about it, I don’t know whom I’m mad at –the bookstores, the authors, the martial artists, the Filipinos, Arnis itself? I suppose there are many reasons why there are very few Arnis books in bookstores. Too bad.

  2. aminahgarangan2014 September 25, 2013 / 7:01 PM

    Sigh! it saddened me the most that our very own Filipino Martial Arts is not being patronized in our own country. it is not as famous as the ones you have mentioned. We will forever be slaved by imported know-hows. I wonder when can we realized and appreciate our own treasure? Go ate I will join you with your tantrums.

  3. rickva September 28, 2013 / 11:59 PM

    I’ve had a few FMA books, when you get them, DON”T LEND THEM OUT!
    They go out of print fast and publishers just don’t invest. Some of the older ones while not great in production values do become valuable because of the limited number of copies printed.
    Myself, I am down to four, missing: The Filipino Martial Arts, by Dan Inosanto, Modern Arnis by Remy Presas, and Filipino Fighting Arts by Mark V. Wiley. Can’t insert a pic here but will post a pic of the ones I have on my blog, two of them were given to me by Arnold Canete of Doce Pares.

    • thedeadlydance September 29, 2013 / 10:13 PM

      I’ll remember your advise. I won’t lend out any of my FMA books. Better safe than sorry. Thanks.

  4. Mio December 16, 2013 / 12:22 AM

    This is my recommendation: http://books.google.ca/books/about/Zen_in_the_Martial_Arts.html?id=e4n7R1ckffQC.

    It not exactly a book on FMA, but is a MUST reading for all martial arts practitioners. I read this book when I was still in my third year in high school. That was in 1985. Unfortunately, my copy of that book had been missing and I surely want to get a new one. It`s easy reading and written by Hollywood writer Joe Hyams, who became a student of Bruce Lee.

    It`s not the typical do-it-yourself (DIY) or history book on martial arts. But I guarantee that after you read the book, all other books on martial arts can go straight to the garbage.

    One more thing, please get a copy of Bruce Lee`s book The Tao of Jeet Kune Do.

    Dan Inosanto also wrote a book on kali. You may want to check that out.

  5. Lester Usapdin August 15, 2014 / 4:31 PM

    I saw: Arnis Self-Defense: Stick, Blade, and Empty-Hand Combat Techniques of the Philippines by Jose Paman in FullyBooked The Fort before. Maybe someone already bought it when you came.

    I also ordered in FullyBooked BGC: The Secrets of Kalis Ilustrisimo by GM Tony Diego and GM Christopher Ricketts when they ran out of stocks.

    You can ask their customer service section about these books so they could reprint in their publisher and you can order at another time.

    Both books costs PHP1,000+ each as I can remember.

    • thedeadlydance August 19, 2014 / 10:33 PM

      Oh yes, the customer service! Why didn’t I think of that before? Thanks!

Please leave a comment

