Photos: My balisong knives

batangas balisong

I really think that whoever invented the balisong sure was smart. Afterall, you must be a clever person to think of making a knife that can be a useful all-around knife, as well as an effective lethal weapon.

What I like best about it is that you can comfortably carry it in your pocket without hurting yourself but when faced with danger you can quickly draw and open it with just a flip of one hand. (For a video of this, check out this post.)

dulodulo and balisong knives
I included my dulodulo in this pictorial: My small but lethal weapons. Lovely.

The two that I have now are gifts. In the photos below, the smaller balisong is originally my hubby’s. Last year,we spent a weekened in Batangas and he bought it there from a street vendor selling blades: scissors, knives, bolos. Since I wasn’t into FMA yet, I didn’t even look at his wares. Too bad! It would have been so interesting. Well, things have changed so I charmed hubby to give me his balisong and he did. Yay! Well…as if he had a choice🙂 Thank you, dear hubby!

dulodulo and balisong knives

The bigger one is from my friend, Ferdie.  We were having an out of town seminar when during a break small talk,  I mentioned that I like balisongs and was looking forward to adding to the one hubby gave me.  “Really?” he said and then went to his car, came back, and nonchalantly handed me a balisong,  “I’ve been using this as a utility knife for years but you can have it if you want.” What?? Of course, I want! Wow, what a surprise! Thank you, dear friend!

dulodulo and balisong knives
When in danger and you need your balisong, quickly take it out from your pocket, and feel for the handle WITHOUT the latch. That’s the safe handle. When you flip the balisong the sharp edge will be away from your hand. Genius.

Right now I’m just starting to learn how to flip them.

Be sure to check out my next post: My nephew’s balisong flipping videos.

Do you have these awesome knives too?

Thank you for taking the time to read The Deadly Dance. Pugay!

5 thoughts on “Photos: My balisong knives

  1. Blade Apprentice December 26, 2013 / 11:32 PM

    Nice toys! Coincidentally, I have almost the same exact balisong your friend gave you. It was an “akin na lang” Christmas gift from my brother. Haha. I’d start learning how to flip mine, too! Cheers!🙂

    • thedeadlydance December 26, 2013 / 11:55 PM

      Our boys are good! Hubby said that he’d rather that I ask for these than expensive jewelry haha!

Please leave a comment

