Towards being a more realistic arnisador

Two years ago, I was a long distance runner. I ran half- marathons and diligently trained for what I considered to be the ultimate challenge, a full marathon.

In March 2012, I ran the 42.2 kms (26.2 miles)!

My brother Sam looking amused while I burst into tears after receiving my finisher's medal at The Bull Runner Dream Marathon, 18 March 2012 , Nuvali, Laguna Philippines
My brother Sam looking amused while I burst into tears after receiving my finisher’s medal at The Bull Runner Dream Marathon, 18 March 2012 , Nuvali, Laguna, Philippines

But you probably know how it is. You look forward and seriously train for a big challenge and when you achieve it, you lose interest.

After the marathon, our running coach told us to allow our bodies to recover by taking it easy for three weeks. Well, I did that and so much more. I rested for months! Sure, I jogged a few times here and there but was slowly turning into a couch potato until… I found Arnis!

Oh Arnis, where have you been all my life?

I became hooked and now I sincerely think it’s going to be my sport forever. Oh yeah!

But I NEED to run again.

In Arnis, you’re taught how to defend yourself against bad guys but don’t you think it’s important also to know how to escape a hostile environment?

I think so.

I want to learn how to strike then run away, hurt the bad guy(s) then escape! That will make me a more realistic arnisador.

Last Sunday, 16 March 2014,  marked the first step towards that. I joined a 5 km (about 3 mi) run.

P1050249
With my nephews, minutes before our 5 AM gunstart
P1050251
More than 12,000 runners ran the different race distances (5km, 10km and 21km)

The atmosphere was very upbeat and I enjoyed myself thoroughly. At the finish line, I truly felt stronger than I did at the starting line.

The running bug has bitten me again.

So, here’s my plan: learn how to escape by running short distances (10 km max) and emphasizing speed training.

Then maybe someday, I can even train in parkour!

david-belle1
Parkour founder, David Belle

Oh okay, maybe not… yet.

For now, I’ll stick with 5 km runs.

ARNIS PLUS SPEED RUNNING. Don’t you think that’s a potent mix?  

Ok gotta run now, Pugay!

******

David Belle Photo credit

Please leave a comment

