Power Breakfast: Overnight oatmeal (no cooking involved!)

My Arnis training starts at 6:30 AM so I’m always on the lookout for easy-to-prepare healthy breakfasts.

Thankfully, I found a lot of ideas from Pinterest and one of the best is this Overnight Oatmeal (sometimes called Refrigerator Oatmeal). Do you know this? When I told my friends about this yesterday, they couldn’t believe that I can eat a no-cook oatmeal. “Just try it and you’ll be a convert,” I said.

Hubby and I eat variations of this at least three times a week and we are hooked!

Want to try it?

Ingredients: (I just eyeball the amounts)

P1050942

  1. Old fashioned rolled oats (not instant). Sometimes I add a small amount of steel cut oats if I want my breakfast to be chewier
  2. Chia seeds (for protein)
  3. Almond milk (I make sure it’s unsweetened because the sweetened kind has 13 grams of sugar per cup. That’s more than 3 teaspoons of sugar* and of course I don’t like that!)
  4. Fruit (I usually use a banana, mango, or raisins)
  5. Cinnamon (1/4 teaspoon a day is good for blood sugar control)

In the evening, I dump everything (except the cinnamon) in a mason jar, shake shake shake, then refrigerate.

P1050946

In the morning I just stir, add a dash of cinnamon and if I feel like it, more milk and fruit.

P1050944

That’s it! I eat about a third before my training and the rest of it after. E-A-S-Y!

Want to try it?🙂

 

* 4 grams of sugar = 1 teaspoon sugar

2 thoughts on “Power Breakfast: Overnight oatmeal (no cooking involved!)

  1. mabelle October 13, 2014 / 7:03 PM

    Where did you buy almond milk?

    • thedeadlydance October 13, 2014 / 10:46 PM

      From hitop, a supermarket near our place in QC. They’re also available at Healthy Options ( but about P40 more expensive) and at Landmark groceries.

Please leave a comment

