Karambit

karambit

“What’s that, a can opener?”

“No… it’s a… neck opener, haha!”

That was an exchange between two of my arnis friends when I recently showed them my new karambit training knife.

“Well, it’s a neck opener alright… and an eye gouger, tendon cutter,  etc., etc., “ we said with a chuckle as only martial artists would considering the gory scenario.

Anyway, I got interested with karambits because my blogger friend, Fia posted hers. And then during the latest Arnis Pasindo tournament, KAMAO’s combat demonstration used karambits.

So, I ordered one from Grandmaster Rodel Dagooc. I think it’s a bit large for me but Master Cris said it’s fine for training purposes.

karambit
Full Length: 7 1/2″ Handle: 4″ Long, 3/4″ Thick Blade: 3″ Long 1/4″ Thick Materials: Aluminum ( Blade ) , Kamagong ( Handle )

Anyway, Master Cris said that karambits are similar to the curved and traditionally bigger blade, the sanggot.

He added that when he was still in Davao, they used the sanggot to harvest coconuts, cut palay, and chop banana tree trunks for pig feed.  The curved blade lessened their wrist fatigue. They usually used the foregrip and did not hook their fingers into the finger ring.  The ring was mainly for the cord they tied to the scabbard on their waist.

Anyway, how did my first day of karambit practice go? Totally enjoyable!

Here I am practicing six different grips.

Karambit grips

It felt familiar yet new. Familiar because it’s a blade and I know blades but it’s new because the curve, the two edges, and the ring allowed different technique applications.

Master Cris added a brief warning:“Be careful with the finger ring. It can prevent you from dropping your karambit but if you don’t watch out, it can also fracture your finger.”

Okay.

On with my moves…

SLASH! HOOK! PUNCH! JAB! PUNCTURE! CUT! RIP!  The karambit felt like a claw and brought out my animal instincts! Cat woman, Arnis version!

Grrrrrrrr!

Totally cool, I must say. Oh yeah!!🙂

***********************

Thank you for taking time to read The Deadly Dance. Pugay!

Interesting reads from around the web:

 

4 thoughts on “Karambit

  1. Blade Apprentice September 12, 2014 / 10:01 PM

    Hahaha, neck opener! I love it.😉 Thanks for the link, ate Joy! Happy FMA training😀

  2. shamanwarrior1984 October 28, 2014 / 7:49 PM

    I carry a karambit with me as part of my EDC (everyday carry) as well as a Gerber fixed blade and a S&W folder. The karambit is a fun knife to play with, second only to the balisong. It takes training to learn how to effectively use it, but it can be a very useful muti-function tool. Here is a video on the karambit by Doug Marcaida. Enjoy!

  3. Running Honeybee November 24, 2014 / 9:52 AM

    Hahaha! Happy neck hunting, Cat Woman! Rraawr! :p

Please leave a comment

