There is always something there to remind me

“This is not good,” I told myself. “I probably should go back to Filipino Martial Arts training soon.”

You see, I was in a church service tonight, and was only vaguely hearing what the pastor was saying because I was so distracted. First, it was the pen in his shirt pocket.  I thought of the long list of  lethal moves I could do with it. Then his microphone, another long list. And then the mic stand….

I’ve burned out and it’s been almost two months now that I’ve pulled back from FMA training and all other related activities. (Check out my earlier post I’m tired of Filipino Martial Arts.)

During this break, I realized that I can’t completely shut off FMA. Remember that catchy 1960’s song “There is always something there to remind me” by Burt Bacharach and Hal David? It’s true of FMA.

I go to a book store and spot a knife book.

IMG_20141111_160930

IMG_20141111_155355

It’s kitchen book alright but that hold can very well be ours. IMG_20141111_160309

I go to a hardware store

IMG_20141112_132131and find walking sticks

IMG_20141112_131139and knives.IMG_20141112_125920And don’t let me get started on the mall’s kitchen section: weapons are just too many to mention!

IMG_20141112_123712

IMG_20141112_123925I sit at a doctor’s waiting room and get mesmerized by the pens and scissors on the secretary’s table. I eat lunch and remember the farmers’ bolos cutting palay.   I see a flag and think of Lapu-lapu, Andres Bonifacio, and Diego Silang.

There’s really no escaping. FMA is and will always be a part of my life and unless I want to think of lethal moves in church again, I better start getting small doses of FMA soon.

We’ll see what happens.

11 thoughts on “There is always something there to remind me

  1. Blade Apprentice November 20, 2014 / 1:07 PM

    Hi ate Joy, I can relate to you having creative thoughts of using seemingly ordinary items as weapons. Hahaha. FMA is everywhere. FMA is forever. Hope to hear you back in training soon! Cheers!😉

    • thedeadlydance November 22, 2014 / 9:17 AM

      Hahaha, you too? That’s what I like about FMA– it’s so integrated in our daily life. I’ll be back in FMA I know.

  2. Mio November 20, 2014 / 11:50 PM

    Arnis/Escrima is a Filipino cultural identity. How can you get tired of your cultural identity?🙂

  3. shamanwarrior1984 November 22, 2014 / 11:08 PM

    I’m the same way. My wife hates shopping with me! I also look at people around me, and think about the best way to take them down, based on their size, posture, what they’re carrying, etc. It’s a good way to pass the time.

    • thedeadlydance December 20, 2014 / 8:17 PM

      Now that makes everything more interesting. I’m going to try that too. If I get more distracted in church, it’s going to be your fault, haha!

  4. Running Honeybee November 24, 2014 / 8:52 AM

    I guess arnis will always be in your blood. You’ll be back stronger after that refreshing break🙂

  5. Javi Posadas December 11, 2014 / 12:36 PM

    This is very late i know, but,

    Hi mam! Its me javi! Mam, if ever you do get back to training, can you help me find a good school so i can start training arnis as well? Its because of your blog that i am so proud and inspired to be a Filipino, to be part of its Heritage. Mam, i hope you can help me find a good school to train, hope to message/chat with you soon mam! -Javi

    • thedeadlydance December 20, 2014 / 8:20 PM

      Wow, it’s touching to know that this tiny blog can have that effect. Thank you very much javi. Ok let’s chat soon. I’ll catch you in FB.

Please leave a comment

