Private moments before the new year

P1090219

A quick post to wish all my FMA friends a Happy New Year!

When my brother-in-law, Jon, gifted hubby and I with an overnight stay in this hotel overlooking Manila Bay, we gratefully accepted because we always like to take these last few days of the year to “think about our lives.”

To some it may be corny or silly but we like this period to contemplate about what had been and what could be, close some issues, and celebrate a lot of joys. We do it individually for the most part.

So now, in the quietness (well not really so quiet as TV chef Gordon Ramsay is cooking steak in the background), I look at photos in my ipad then read select entries in my personal journal as well as this blog. So many wonderful moments of 2014 have already slipped my conscious memory and it’s comforting to call them back for a brief visit.

Some things that are negative, I determine to let go. Go away! Good riddance! (I imagine that with a strong whack from my Arnis stick🙂

Now, as I sip piping hot, almost-burns-my-tongue black tea,  I ask God to bless me with a new dream for 2015: to realize an aspiration, to discover a new strength, to ignite a new passion, to find new friends, to overcome a new challenge.

Before fun-loving Filipinos set off their firecrackers, I am grateful for these private moments. So nice.

The view of  the pool and the harbor from our 6th floor room
The view of the pool and the harbor from our 6th floor room

May the LORD Jesus Christ, whom I believe in and strive to follow, bless all of us as we face 2015.  Peace and joy to all of you, my friends.

Pugay!

P.S.

I leave you with a photo of our room’s mini bar.

P1090194

Of course, I had to check out the “weapons”🙂

P1090195

I’m looking forward to the resumption of my training this January. Yes, I burned out and took a break (check out I’m tired of FMA) but now, in the words of my sister Sandi, I’m “egzoited.”

Thank you very much for taking time to read The Deadly Dance. See you next year!

 

4 thoughts on “Private moments before the new year

  1. Michelle of CabbyCraft December 31, 2014 / 9:04 PM

    Have a blessed New Year!   I love quiet moments like that when we can just be still,  read on God’s Word,  contemplate and remember His faithfulness throughout the year.   Blessings! 

    Sent from my T-Mobile 4G LTE Device

    • Joy December 31, 2014 / 9:35 PM

      Thanks Bing. Happy new year with lots of blessings to you and Toto too.🙂

  2. senseironin January 1, 2015 / 2:03 AM

    This is one of the times I reflect on what I accomplished, what I learned in the past year and my plans and dreams for the coming year. The other is a review of my life on my birthday. May all your plans and dreams be realized in the coming year. May this be a Happy, Healthy, and Prosperous year for you and yours. May we all see a year of Peace for all. Nameste Jules

    • Joy January 2, 2015 / 10:48 AM

      Thank you Sensei Ronin. You’re right, new years and birthdays are special times to look at life. For me, it helps me make the necessary improvements and makes me happier when I remember the joys.
      A happy, healthy, prosperous new year to you and yours too.

Please leave a comment

